The 76-acre Confederate Reunion Grounds, a Texas Historical Commission property, is located in Limestone County at the confluence of the Navasota River and Jack’s Creek. Historic architectural attractions include the 1893 dance pavilion, entrance marker and iron archway, 1920s pump house, ruins of Miss Mamie Kennedy’s “Delight House,” Colonel Humphrey’s Arch and Spring, rock and concrete barbecue pits, and rock chimneys, foot bridges, ponds, fountains, cisterns and wells throughout the site. Walking trails include a remnant of the brick “Old Coolidge–Reunion Grounds” Road.
Confederate Reunion Grounds represents one of the few historic sites so clearly connected to Texas’ Southern identity and the Lost Cause Movement, which sought to bolster camaraderie between Southern veterans and restore the honor of the fallen Confederate soldiers. Families camped under the giant bur oaks, enjoying speeches, concerts, dances, fellowship and food, and raising funds for families of their fallen comrades. A Civil War-era cannon, “Old Val Verde,” is exhibited beneath the flagpoles at the center of the site near the intersection of Robert E. Lee and Stonewall Jackson Avenues. From 1889 to 1946, Old Val Verde was fired each day at dawn and dusk during the four-day reunion gatherings that occurred each year during late-July or early-August. The cannon’s history includes action for both Union and Confederate forces. Read more about the history of Confederate Reunion Grounds.
Picnic areas and walking trails are available to visitors. Family reunions, gatherings and weddings can be held at the site through the rental of the pavilion; overnight camping is available with rental of the pavilion.
Native vegetation and flora at the site provide shelter and home to an abundance of wildlife. The site is locally known for its fishing and also provides a kayak and canoe link to the Fort Parker State Park Lake along the Limestone Bluffs Paddling Trail. A canoe/kayak launch is provided for easy access to the Navasota River.